stopsignsolutions

Let's get it together, one stop at a time.

One Stop at a Time

IMAG0993

Great juxtaposition, there WaPo.

We’ll keep the intro short, because I want to jump right into what finally motivated me to get on Twitter and stop leaving this blog page empty. You’ll get to know me soon enough.

I’m just your average Millennial with one foot flirting with the social media black hole that is modern life while clutching onto real paperback books and CDs. People mistake my honest observations and my habit to share them in public for a nasty attitude, but that is not the case. I’m a sweet Southern girl with a keen eye for BS and I rarely pass up the chance to crack a joke at reality’s expense. It’s worth stating that I don’t do that just for a quick laugh. I actually do want to call my or your attention to the way things are in the hope that we will change. In order to do something right, we have to stop doing something wrong, and how else will we know that Crap A is stupid or Crap B is racist if we never bring it up?

Take today’s Express (a mini-newspaper from Washington Post handed out at Metro stations by mostly lecherous old men) as a prime example. After sliding into my seat on the train, I finally allowed myself to read a story about the garment factory collapse in Bangladesh. Another garment factory there burned to the ground a little while ago and it was too soon for me to accept that nothing had been done to ensure the safety of those innocent human beings, just trying to work hard for a low wage and feed their families. What bothered me even more is that no one knows (or is willing to report) which clothing brands or stores get their garments from these shoddily-managed factories. I looked down at my outfit. The logos and brands aren’t put on the clothes until after the cheap labor is done making them. Could my jeans have been made in Bangladesh? I rarely check the labels to see where things are made. That precious time is for looking at the price and the size of the sundry sundresses perpetually on sale at Ross Dress for Less. How could I be sure not to support sweatshops and horrible factories in the future? Was I a horrible person for buying things so cheap?

Feeling for a moment like Alice in Ponderland, my eyes involuntarily drifted out of focus and then landed on the right hand side of the newspaper spread.

CLOTHING FACTORY WAREHOUSE
BOLDEST LOOKS FOR SPRING ARRIVING DAILY
IT’S ALL ABOUT THE COLOR! WE WILL NEVER BE UNDERSOLD…EVER!

A place selling crap like T-shirts 3 for $10 had taken out a FULL PAGE ad and some waste of vital organs allowed it to end up right next to a story about at least 200 people being crushed to death in a garment factory overseas. WHAT. My temporary disgust at my shopping habit turned to blind fury at the advertisement. Call me imbalanced, but tasteless, insensitive excuses for journalism make my blood boil. I don’t see how any decent person could have let those two items go to print in the same issue let alone on the same spread, but there it was.

To the editors and the people anywhere near the folding machines at Washington Post, STOP. Stop and think about how the whole issue will look before you put it together and definitely before you okay stacks of papers for distribution. You have ruined the fun of shopping and made me even sadder for the factory workers of Bangladesh. I already have to deal with your pervert paperboys who like to comment on my pedicure, and that is more than enough to deal with early in the morning.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 26, 2013 by in Current Affairs and tagged , .

Navigation

